K12 National Parent Network

New Series Kicks-Off

on February 4!

Computer and Technology Skills!

If you've ever wanted to learn more about computer tools like Microsoft Word, Powerpoint, Excel and One Note, or the parts of the Open Office Suite or even the great tools that are available through Google, then this series is for you!

Join Lori Lovelady, CAVA parent and Microsoft Office Certified Trainer, to learn about how to use these tools to make schooling and home management easier. This series welcomes both parents and Learning Coaches as well as their students in Grades 5 and above to learn about the tools that may be on your computers. Feel free to pick and choose the sessions that meet your interests.

This series will occur on Tuesdays at 8pm Eastern/7pm Central/ 6pm Mountain/ 5pm Pacific. 

Please see the schedule HERE for the exact days and topics.

TEAM FAMILY!

Families with strong dynamics are the most successful and everyone can benefit from learning techniques to help use each family member’s individual strengths to make your family team stronger.  Everyone achieves more when the team works together.  During the nine TEAM FAMILY interactive sessions, we will explore a variety of topics that will help families build a stronger family team. 

Parents (and students who are in grades 5 or higher), join Series leader Beth Mooney of Learning to Lead  to discuss and learn how to connect, support, and cheer each other on.   Join in for these afternoon sessions for fun and interaction.  This series begins on Thursday, January 23rd and continues for 9 consecutive Thursdays at 3pm Eastern/2pm Central/1pm Mtn/12pm Pacific.

 

Parent2Parent Lifeline!

Every Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday starting on January 7, 2014.

3pm and 6pm Eastern/  2 and 5pm Central/ 1 and 4pm Mountain & Arizona/ 12noon and 3pm Pacific

Sometimes you just have a question that you'd like to ask another parent.

If you have a question about working with your student, using the curriculum, setting up your school space, time management, using the Online School or LMS, student motivation, or just getting through your day, log in to ask your question of a real parent who is there just for you!

You're not alone! If we don't have the answer, we can help you find out where to look!

All year long, the K12 National Parent Network offers a large selection of live sessions and events that provide you assistance in schooling your student, managing your home and your day, and then some things that are just for you! K12 cares about  parents! We care about you!

From the summer before school begins and continuing all year long, new online educators  and veteran parents and families alike will find support and information to keep them going through the Parent Network.   Look here to find opportunities to learn about strategies for working with your student, chances to improve your online skills, weekly time to update and refresh your own math and writing skills and times to think about your parenting strategies. Don't miss the parent communities and clubs, special series and sessions to come!

** For those in Arizona:  You are now in Mountain time.